
 

 

LR 54 - Bill of Costs and Attorney Fees  
(See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54) 

LR 54-1 Costs - Other than Attorney Fees (See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(1)) 
(a) Filing Requirements (See 28 U.S.C. §§ 1920-24) 

(1) Bill of Costs: Not later than 14 days after entry of judgment or receipt and docketing of 
the appellate court's mandate, the prevailing party may file and serve on all parties a Bill 
of Costs that provides detailed itemization of all claimed costs. The prevailing party 
must file an affidavit or declaration and appropriate documentation. 

(2) Verification: The Bill of Costs must be verified as required by 28 U.S.C. § 1924. 

(b) Objections 

Not later than 14 days after service of the Bill of Costs, a party objecting to any item of cost must 
file and serve objections. Objections should be accompanied by an affidavit or declaration and 
supporting legal memorandum in support of the party's position. A response, if any, must be filed 
not later than 14 days after service of the objections. 

(c) Word or Page-Count Limitations 

(1) Without prior Court approval, any legal memorandum in support of, or in opposition to, 
the Bill of Costs may not exceed 3,000 words, or in the alternative, ten pages.  If the 
document exceeds the page limit, then the party must certify compliance with the word-
count limit.  This limitation includes headings, footnotes and quotations, but excludes 
the caption, signature block, exhibits, and any certificates of counsel. 

(2) Certificate of Compliance:  As required by these rules, the party must file a Certificate 
of Compliance as to the word-count limit as provided in LR 7-2(b). 

LR 54-2 Order Taxing Costs 

(a) Authority to Tax Costs 

Unless otherwise directed by the Court, the Clerk may tax costs provided in Fed. R. Civ. P. 
54(d)(1). 

(b) Objections to the Clerk's Order Taxing Costs 

Notwithstanding Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(1), not later than 14 days after filing of the Clerk's order 
taxing costs, any party may file and serve written objections to the Clerk's order. Unless 
requested by the Court, there will be no further submissions, and review by the Court will be 
determined on the same papers and evidence submitted to the Clerk. 



 

 

(c) No Oral Argument 

Unless requested by the Court, costs will be taxed on the written submissions of the parties and 
without oral argument. 

LR 54-3 Motion for Award of Attorney Fees (See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(2)) 

(a) Motion Requirements 

In addition to the requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(2)(B), any motion for attorney fees must 
set forth the relevant facts and arguments of the moving party, along with all supporting 
authorities, and affidavits, or declarations. 

Practice Tip to LR 54-3 

Reasonable Hourly Rate 

As for the reasonable hourly rate, the Court uses the most recent Oregon State Bar Economic 
Survey as its initial benchmark. A current edition of the Economic Survey is available from the 
Oregon State Bar at its website: www.osbar.org. Attorneys may argue for higher rates based on 
inflation, specialty, or other factors. However, the Court requests that fee petitions address the 
Economic Survey and provide justification for requested hourly rates higher than reported by the 
Survey. Practitioners are also referred to the document "Message From the Court Regarding 
Attorney Fee Petitions" found on the Court's website. 

(b) Objections or Other Responses 

Objections and responsive materials are due not later than 14 days after service of the motion. 
Replies, if any, must be filed not later than 14 days after service of the objection. 

(c) Hearing 

Unless otherwise directed by the Court, any hearing on the motion for attorney fees will be heard 
by the Court without: 

(1) Segregating the issue of liability for attorney fees from the issue of the amount of fees; 

(2) Live testimony and/or cross-examination of witnesses; 

(3) Extending the time for appeal of the underlying judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 58; or 

(4) The parties submitting proposed findings and conclusions, and/or the parties objecting 
to proposed findings and conclusions issued by the Court. 

(d) Other Options (See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)) 

The Court may issue other appropriate orders relating to the motion for attorney fees, including a 
decision to refer the motion and objections to mediation or other dispute resolution process. 



 

 

(e) Legal Memoranda and Word or Page-Count Limitations 

(1) Without prior Court approval, all legal memoranda in support of, or in opposition to, 
motions for attorney fees may not exceed 3,000 words, or in the alternative, ten pages.  
If the document exceeds the page limit, then the party must certify compliance with the 
word-count limit.  This limitation includes headings, footnotes and quotations, but 
excludes the caption, signature block, exhibits, and any certificates of counsel. 

(2) Certificate of Compliance:  As required by these rules, the party must file a Certificate 
of Compliance as to the word-count limit as provided in LR 7-2(b). 

 

Amendment History to LR 54 

June 1, 2000 

LR 54.1(a)(1)(A) The phrase "or receipt and docketing of the appellate Court's mandate," has 
been added to clarify the filing deadlines. 

June 1, 2002 

LR 54.4(b) The sentence beginning "Unless otherwise directed . . . ." was added. 

June 1, 2006 

Generally "Cost Bills" changed to "Bill of Costs" throughout. 
Numeric format modified; i.e. "ten (10)". 

LR 54.1(a)(1) Subsection (B) deleted and merged into LR 54.1(a)(1). 
"The prevailing party . . ." sentence moved from (B) to LR 54.1(a)(1). 

LR 54.1(b) The word "supporting" added in second sentence. Permission to file a 
response added. 

LR 54.2 Text of LR 54.3 moved to new (b) and subsequent sections re-lettered 
Subsection (c) "Order Taxing Costs" deleted. 

LR 54.3 Text moved to LR 54.2(b) with subsequent sections re-numbered 
Practice tip added to LR 54.3(a) 
Subsection (b) text modified to permit a reply to the objection. 

December 1, 2009 

LR 54-2(a) Deleted phrase "one day after the time limits in LR 54-1 have expired." 

LR 54-3 Citation to Oregon State Bar website added to practice tip. 



 

 

Generally Deadlines changed from "eleven (11)" days to "fourteen (14)" days. 
Updated cross-references. 

March 1, 2012 

LR 54-1(c) now 
LR 54-1(c)(1) and 
(2) 

Modified section to include an alternate word-count limitation of no more 
than 3,000 words. Headings, footnotes, and quotations count toward this 
limitation. The caption, table of authorities, signature block, and any 
certificates of counsel do not count toward this limitation. Included 
requirement of a Certificate of Compliance by the attorney, or 
unrepresented party, that the memorandum complies with the word-count 
limitation. 

LR 54-3(c) Changed "attorneys' fees" to "attorney fees." 

LR 54-3(c)(1) Changed "attorneys' fees" to "attorney fees." 

LR 54-3(d) Changed "attorneys' fees" to "attorney fees." 

LR 54-3(e) Modified language to include an alternate word-count limitation of 3,000 
words. 

March 1, 2013 

LR 54-1(c) Title of the rule modified to show preference to word-count rather than 
page-count.  The words, "Except as authorized in advance by the Court" 
changed to be "Without prior Court approval," to match similar language 
used in LRs 7-2(b) and 26-3(b).  The rule was also simplified and amended 
to clarify that the certificate of compliance with the word-count limitation is 
necessary when the page-count limitation is exceeded, that the count (also) 
excludes exhibits, and that the certificate be as provided in LR 7-2(b).     

LR 54-3(e) Title of rule modified to show preference to word-count rather than page-
count. The words, "Except as authorized in advance by the Court" changed 
to be "Without prior Court approval," and language as to what is included in 
the word-count and the certificate of compliance has been added to match 
similar language used in LRs 7-2(b) , 26-3(b) and 54-1(c).   

March 1, 2014 

LR 54-1(a) Changed "fourteen (14)" to "14." 

LR 54-1(b) Changed "fourteen (14)" to "14" in two instances. 

LR 54-1(c)(1) Changed "ten" to "10." 

LR 54-2(b) Changed "fourteen (14)" to "14." 



 

 

LR 54-3(b) Changed "fourteen (14)" to "14." 

LR 54-3(e)(1) Changed "ten (10)" to "ten." 

March 1, 2017 

LR 54-1(a)(1) Added "or declaration" after "affidavit." 

LR 54-1(b) Added "or declaration" after "affidavit." 

LR 54-3(a) Deleted "and" before "affidavits" and added comma and "or declarations" 
after "affidavits." 

 


